glitter

Look out my friends, the german glass glitter I ordered arrived!

JOY - glitter

So as I feared, many of my Christmas decorations pre-remodel were a bust.  Too gold, too burgundy, too formal, too-something…I was able to make a lot of it work, particularly the more whimsical items we use downstairs and on the boys’ tree. But our main floor needed some help. I’m all about the holiday sparkle, but I needed more silver, less gold.

Since I’m still working on decorating our house for the other eleven months out of the year, I couldn’t justify a big holiday decor shopping spree. So a little thriftiness combined with my decorating OCD usually leads to me looking around trying to think of what I can make…which can be dangerous. I’ve been wanting to try german glass glitter for awhile, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity to give it a try.

LOVE the stuff…

My first item on the list was what to do with the new round mirror that hangs above my dresser/buffet in the dining area. I used to always hang a wreath on the old rectangular mirror, but that wasn’t going to work on the new round one.

So…glitter project #1

I picked up some wooden letters at Hobby Lobby for about $1.50 a piece. I’ve seen glitter letters done using chipboard, but I really liked the font of these wooden letters so I decided they would work just as well.

JOY raw letters

I first painted the letters with a metallic grey craft paint I had in my stash. I figured this would allow a little more forgiveness when trying to cover all of the letters with the glitter than having the raw wood show through.

JOY painted

Next using the same sponge brush, I covered the letters with glue (I used Elmer’s glue all) and sprinkled them with glitter using a plastic spoon. Another tip is to use a plastic container to catch all the glitter as it falls. It gets a little messy and the container is a great way to catch and reuse what didn’t stick the first time. (I used one of those plastic food storage containers with a lid)

Let it dry, then attach ribbon to the back of each letter. I used my hot glue gun, because it dries fast and dinner was on the stove…

JOY O

Hang and enjoy!

JOY close up

JOY full shot

3 thoughts on “glitter

  1. Love what you did, I am tired of the wreath hanging over the mirror idea. So….guess a trip to the craft store is in order for me! Where do you buy this glitter from?

  2. The german glass glitter is a little different than the typical glitter found at craft stores, the grit is more “chunky” so it reflects and sparkles really nice. I bought mine online at http://www.meyer-imports.com/. I have used the Martha Stewart glitter sold at Michaels before and it’s really pretty as well. Just more fine. Honestly, any glitter will work 🙂 Have fun!

Comment

