IKEA sawhorse desk upgrade

When we completely gutted our basement last year, we added a new family room and turned the old one into a new laundry room and study area for the boys. I first envisioned built-in desks and cabinets for the space, but then realized it may be better to keep the area more flexible for possible changes down the road. Those kiddos grow up so fast!

So I was in the market for desks…

Since my remodel budget didn’t include new furniture, and well, this beautiful upholstered bed I had my eye on for our bedroom trumped desks for the boys…they needed to be cheap. Cheap = IKEA.  Or should I say “inexpensive”. C’mon who are we kidding, I’ve wheeled out a whole apartment full of furniture through the IKEA parking lot for a few hundred bucks. All you need is patience and an allen wrench. (there may also be a drink or two required) 🙂

We picked up four of these trestle style legs called Vika Artur in an unfinished pine.  I liked the sawhorse style, but wanted something that had a more  not-IKEA  unique look.

One good thing about all those pieces in a big flat box is that it makes them easy to paint. I started by spray painting all of the pieces with Rustoleum oil rubbed bronze spray paint.

Once all of the trestle legs were put together I painted all four of them in Annie Sloan Duck Egg Blue and then distressed them to show the dark bronze underneath.

Here they are all put together in the boys’ study. The desktops are also from IKEA. If this were a single sawhorse style desk I think an old door would be perfect. But since I really wanted the two surfaces to be flush, we went with matching desktops.

But if I come across two old doors… 🙂

Shouldn’t we all WORK hard and Be NICE?

8 thoughts on “IKEA sawhorse desk upgrade

    • Hello,
      We didn’t screw the table tops down and they stay in place. The boys’ desks are against a wall which I think helps, so if the desk was floating in a room I would consider screwing the top down.
      Thanks!
      Krista

    • Hello! I’m sorry for my delay in getting back to you! They are two 60 inch table tops pushed together. The sawhorses would definitely support something wider, it just made sense to go with four of them in my situation. Best of luck to you!

  1. This program ensures that the loans are not based consolidate credit on
    your credit score is. When we put the words consolidate credit together it becomes apparent that the term means rolling different pieces of loans and installment problem?

    The company then settles your debt balances for less than what a five year loan
    would be the best way to access your PIN.

  2. Can you provide a little more detail on how you distressed the trestles after painted with the blue? And to add a more feminine touch, do you think it would be possible to cover the table portion with fabric and tacks for a little something extra…

    • Hi Rita,
      I distressed the trestles with a med/fine sanding block to remove some of the duck egg blue to show the dark bronze and wood beneath. Focusing on the edges and areas that would start to show wear over time. I finished with a layer of clear wax and then added some dark wax in areas to add more of an aged finish.
      I like the idea of fabric – you just may need to have a piece of glass on top to protect it. Send pics!!

Comment