my favorite plant

If you have followed my blog for awhile you most likely know that I’m not much of a green thumb when it comes to indoor plants. I do okay outside, but I have a tendency to torture any plant I try to keep indoors. I completely admit to the fact it’s my fault…I stuff them places where I think they look good from a design perspective – completely ignoring their “care” instructions. You may recall the unfortunate Christmas poinsettia from last year.

Needs lots of sunlight? But I really like the way it brightens up this dark corner.

Water regularly? That’s a little tough when it’s placed 9 feet off the floor on top of that empty shelf that needed something green.

Then I discovered air plants.

When I first saw them in a shop I thought they were fake. They were just sitting here and there, tucked and stuffed….just the way I like them. But where was the dirt? How do they live? I had to buy some.

And then I bought some more.

I have airplants scattered throughout our house. In a centerpiece on our dining room table, tucked in with some starfish on a coffee table, on the counter in the powder room, and nestled with some seaglass bottles in our master bath. I spray these little guys with water about every two weeks (don’t completely hold me to that timeline…) and that is it!! It’s been about a year and I promise I haven’t killed one yet!

Air plants or “Tillandsia” come in a variety of colors, shapes and sizes.  They don’t require dirt so the display options are almost endless. They are such a fun and inexpensive way to add some color and texture to your space and I knew I needed to have them for the shop.

It’s been two weeks since I’ve opened and I already had to order another 32 plants! Well they have arrived and are beautiful. Here are  some fun ways we have them displayed at BEACHGLASS.

airplant and pumpkins

airplants coastal

terrarium wred

Comment